Book Tour: Hot British Boyfriend by Kristy Boyce

Hot British Boyfriend by: Kristy Boyce

Release Date: February 9th, 2021

Publisher: HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 336

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | Indiebound

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Cover Artist: Jacqueline Li

Cover Designer: Chris Kwon


Synopsis

After a horrifying public rejection by her crush, Ellie Nichols does what any girl would do: she flees the country. To be more precise, she joins her high school’s study abroad trip to England. While most of her classmates are there to take honors courses and pad their college applications, Ellie is on a quest to rebuild her reputation and self-confidence. And nothing is more of a confidence booster than getting a hot British boyfriend. When Ellie meets Will, a gorgeous and charming Brit, she vows to avoid making the same mistakes as she did with the last guy she liked. Which is why she strikes up a bargain with Dev, an overachieving classmate who she’s never clicked with, but who does seem to know a lot about the things Will is interested in—if he helps her win over her crush, then she’ll help him win over his. But even as Ellie embarks on a whirlwind romance, one that takes her on adventures to some of England’s most beautiful places, she still needs to figure out if this is actually the answer to all her problems… and whether the perfect boyfriend is actually the perfect boy for her.


Review

Thank you immensely to TBR and Beyond Tours, Kristy Boyce, and HarperTeen for sending me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. To check out the rest of the stops on this TBR and Beyond Tour click here!

Hot British Boyfriend was such a fun and endearing read. Reading this definitely made me regret not studying abroad while I was still in school. The story starts off with an immediate scandal that catches your attention and then in the next few pages, we are already on the way to England with Ellie, where she begins her romantic adventure. The plot of the book overall held my attention and there were many interesting characters besides the main character Ellie. The friends she makes while on the trip, Huan, Dev, and Sage really grew on me as I read the book. They’re the kind of people that I hoped I was in high school. Friendly and wanting to make sure everyone felt included. The way that Boyce wrote the characters was also great. Ellie’s friends weren’t immediately her friends and that felt more realistic than some of the friendships I had read in books recently. They slowly incorporated her into their friendship circle and every time any of them interacted with her or each other it made me smile. The romance in this book wasn’t as heavy as I thought it was going to be, which is not a bad thing at all! Ellie did get on my nerves in some of the romantic situations because she didn’t realize how much of a catch she was, but I love that she slowly began to find and love herself by the end of the book.

If you liked Again, but Better by Christina Riccio I would definitely recommend this book. It was a fun and quick read and it gave me all the friendship and romantic scenes I needed.


Mood Board


Playlist


Win a finished copy of Hot British Boyfriend (US only)


Meet the Author

Kristy Boyce lives in Columbus, OH and teaches psychology as a senior lecturer at The Ohio State University. When she’s not spending time with her husband and son, she’s usually writing, reading, putting together fairy gardens, or watching happy reality TV (The Great British Bake-Off and So You Think You Can Dance are perennial favorites).

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads


Meet the Cover Artist

Jacqueline Li is an illustrator and educator currently based in Toronto. Her work has been featured in blogs, print, at events, and on the Toronto subway system. 

When she’s not drawing, Jacqueline can often be found borrowing library books, listening to boy bands, or practicing her moves for Pump It Up.

Feel free to get in touch or just say hello at jacqln.li@gmail.com

Website | Instagram | Twitter | Print Shop


Meet the Cover Designer

My name is Chris Kwon, I graduated from the School of Visual Arts. I’m a designer and animator working to bring fun and life into a diverse range of work.

I’m a children’s book designer at HarperCollins Publishers. Reach me at notchriskwon@gmail.com .

Website | Instagram | Pinterest | Twitter | Dribble


More Blog Posts

Book Tour: Woods of Silver and Light by Victoria McCombs

Synopsis Ronin’s son is dead, and Maid Marion is gone. But a sorceress banished to the Woods can bring his son back if he and his Silver Raiders are willing to do something for her first. She finds there’s nothing Ronin Hood won’t do for his son… Anika finds herself drawn to the mystery of the […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Jade Bones by Lani Forbes

Synopsis Cast into the underworld after an act of shattering betrayal, Mayana and Ahkin must overcome unimaginable odds if they are to return home and reclaim the throne of the Chicome. A river of blood and demons disguised as children are only two of the challenges standing in their way. Fortunately, they are not unequipped. […]

Read More

Book Tour: Wings of Ebony by J. Elle

Synopsis In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry and must save both the human and god worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games! “Make a way out of no way” is just the […]

Read More

Book Tour: The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna

Synopsis  Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in fear and anticipation of the blood ceremony that will determine whether she will become a member of her village. Already different from everyone else because of her unnatural intuition, Deka prays for red blood so she can finally feel like she belongs. But on the day of the ceremony, her […]

Read More

Book tour: Love and Other Moods

Synopsis Love and Other Moods is a coming-of-age story set in contemporary China, about falling in love, learning to adult, finding strength, and discovering one’s place in the world.  Naomi Kita-Fan uproots her life from New York to China when her fiancé’s company transfers him to Shanghai. After a disastrous turn of events, Naomi finds […]

Read More

Book Tour: Cast in Firelight by Dana Swift

Synopsis The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh. Adraa is the royal heir of Belwar, a talented witch on the cusp of […]

Read More

One thought on “Book Tour: Hot British Boyfriend by Kristy Boyce

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s